Event info

Friday, September 21, 2018 - 7:30pm
Sunday, September 23, 2018 - 2:30pm

$14 for adults, $11 for seniors, $8 for students, faculty & staff


Meadows Symphony Orchestra: Clyne, Bernstein and Beethoven

The program opens with Anna Clyne’s This Midnight Hour, a single-movement work composed in 2015. It was inspired by poems of Baudelaire and Nobel-winning poet Juan Ramón Jiménez evoking nighttime, emotional abandon, wild movement, and sounds and perfumes mixing in the night air. Next, in honor of Leonard Bernstein’s 100th birthday year, the MSO will perform Bernstein’s Three Meditations from “Mass,” featuring faculty member and international performing artist Andres Díaz on cello. The concert concludes with Beethoven’s magnificent Symphony No. 5. Premiered in 1808, it represents the composer’s effort to overcome his despair at losing his hearing, and is one of his greatest and most loved works.


For more information call 214.768.2787