Event info

When: 
Friday, September 6, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, September 13, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, September 27, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, October 4, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, October 11, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, October 18, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, October 25, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, November 1, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, November 8, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:30am
Friday, November 22, 2013 - 10:30am
Price: 

$40 for the series; FREE for museum members and SMU faculty, staff and students. Pre-registration is required.

Share

Friday Morning Lecture Series: The Art Treasures of the Meadows Museum: Open Windows to the Culture and Soul of Spain

Friday Morning Lecture Series
Luis Martín, Professor Emeritus of History, SMU

This 11-part lecture series follows an original and seldom-traveled path to reach an understanding of, and a generous emotional empathy towards, the Spanish quest for the transcendent, its spirituality, and the popular beliefs and religious traditions of its people. This new path is the “camino real” of the aesthetics, the creative, the beautiful and the visual, opened not by theologians but by artists, and will be explored through contemplation and enjoyment of great artworks from the Meadows Museum collection. Dr. Martín has taught courses on the history of Spain and its empire for nearly 50 years both at SMU and in the community.

Contact: 

For more information and to register, call 214.768.2740.

Comments: