Event info

When: 
Friday, February 1, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, February 8, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, February 15, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, February 22, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, March 1, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, March 8, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, March 22, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, April 5, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, April 12, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, April 19, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Friday, April 26, 2013 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Price: 

$40 for the 11-part series; FREE for museum members and SMU faculty, staff & students. Pre-registration is required.

Share

Friday Morning Lecture Series: Nation Building: The Search for National Identity in Latin America

Luis Martín, Professor Emeritus of History, SMU

The invasion of Spain by Napoleon in 1808 precipitated the collapse of the Spanish Empire and began the long, painful process of Latin American independence and of the creation of new nation-states. The lectures will examine and analyze that process of “nation building” and the roles played in it by the different segments of colonial society: Indians, mestizos, creoles and peninsulares. Attention will also be paid to the impact delivered on the wars of independence by merchant guilds, the landowners, the church and the colonial army. A few men of destiny will be presented as leaders of the transition from colonies to independent nations: men like Tupac Amaru, Hidalgo, San Martin and Bolivar. Once Spain was defeated and Latin America was liberated from the colonial yoke, the different regions of the continent engaged in several wars among themselves to determine their borders and frontiers and to crystallize their national identities.

Every Friday morning, February 1st through April 26, 2013. No lectures March 15 and March 29.

Contact: 

For more information and to register, call 214.768.2740.

Comments: