Performance

Meadows Opera Theatre’s Opera Free For All: “The Singing Violin” by Simon Sargon

When: 
Friday, March 24, 2017 - 1:00pm

In a Cinderella-like story, an innocent young daughter, hated by her vicious stepsisters, is pushed off a cliff to her death and her soul is imprisoned in the trunk of an ancient tree buried deep in the forest. Will the spell be broken by the gypsy magic of her deceased mother and by a young woodsman who fashions a violin out of the tree? Simon Sargon’s delightful, poignant work brings new life to this age-old gypsy fable.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Spring Brown Bag Dance Series

When: 
Monday, March 6, 2017 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 12:30pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 12:00pm
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 12:30pm
Friday, March 10, 2017 - 12:00pm

The Division of Dance presents lunchtime performances of 10-15 original, student-choreographed works in multiple genres, including ballet, modern, jazz, tap and hip-hop.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

“Mary Stuart” by Friedrich Schiller

When: 
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 8:00pm
Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 8:00pm
Friday, March 3, 2017 - 8:00pm
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 2:00pm
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 8:00pm
Sunday, March 5, 2017 - 2:00pm

Directed by Blake Hackler, assistant professor of theatre

Premiered in 1800, the play depicts the last days of Mary, Queen of Scots, imprisoned on suspicion of plotting to overthrow her cousin Queen Elizabeth I. The Washington Post wrote, “In its depiction of charismatic but isolated leaders grappling with the demands of ego and diplomacy, it easily satisfies our craving for political stars.”

Photos by Amelia Bransky 

Price: 

$14 for adults, $11 for seniors, $8 for students, faculty & staff

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Meadows Opera Theatre: “The Elixir of Love” by Gaetano Donizetti

When: 
Thursday, February 9, 2017 - 7:30pm
Friday, February 10, 2017 - 7:30pm
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 2:00pm

With the Meadows Opera Orchestra
Directed by Hank Hammett
Conducted by Paul Phillips

Price: 

$14 for adults, $11 for seniors, $8 for students, faculty & staff

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

POINT Ensemble

When: 
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 7:30pm

The POINT ensemble, directed by Kim Corbet, is the Meadows improvisational and creative project class, experimenting in an electro-acoustic environment and working from the subconscious realm – aka free improvisation.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Senior Dance Concert

When: 
Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 6:00pm
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 6:00pm
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 7, 2017 - 7:00pm
Senior Dance Concert

Two different shows featuring student works choreographed and produced by the senior class of 2017.
Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program A)
Friday, May 5, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program B)
Saturday, May 6, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program A)
Sunday, May 7, 2017 at 7:00pm (Program B)

Price: 

$5 per person for reserved seating.

Student Rush: Students may line up for free admittance with a valid student I.D. one hour prior to performance time. Students will be admitted to the theatre 10 minutes before show time and may choose seating based on availability.

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787.

Meadows Jazz Orchestra Fall Brown Bag Concert

When: 
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 12:45pm

Bring your lunch and relax in the Bob Hope Lobby for a lively midday concert by the Meadows Jazz Orchestra. The MJO explores the range of large ensemble jazz from traditions of the famed big bands to contemporary compositions. The ensemble features SMU students involved in an array of degree programs and majors across the Meadows School of the Arts and the SMU campus.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787.

Syndicate content

User login