Dance

Fall Dance Concert

When: 
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 8:00pm
Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 8:00pm
Friday, November 10, 2017 - 8:00pm
Saturday, November 11, 2017 - 8:00pm
Sunday, November 12, 2017 - 2:00pm

Three contemporary works highlight the Fall Dance Concert. With its circular stage space, curving ramps and central spire, Associate Professor Christopher Dolder’s new version of Bolero is equal parts architectural art and bio-mechanical physics experiment. The interactive set and video-projected imagery compel the dancers to accelerate, ascend and literally vault into space in feats of virtuosic toroidal motion.

Price: 

$14 for adults, $11 for seniors, $8 for students, faculty & staff

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Fall Brown Bag Dance Series

When: 
Monday, October 2, 2017 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 12:30pm
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 12:00pm
Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 12:30pm
Friday, October 6, 2017 - 12:00pm

The Division of Dance presents lunchtime performances of 10-15 original, student-choreographed works in multiple genres including ballet, modern, jazz, tap and hip-hop.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Concert for Kindness: Fundraiser for Operation Kindness No-Kill Animal Shelter

When: 
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 6:00pm - 9:00pm

The Concert for Kindness is an annual fundraiser event organized by Artists for Animals, with co-founders Erin Hannigan (SMU Meadows faculty member and principal oboist, Dallas Symphony) and renowned photographer Teresa Berg. The evening includes performances by members of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Avant Chamber Ballet and SMU Meadows School of the Arts. A silent art auction will feature works by area artists and students of Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, along with a wine and dessert reception.

Price: 

$100 per person

Contact: 

For tickets and more information, visit artistsforanimalstx.com.

Meadows at the Meyerson 2017

When: 
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 8:00pm

The 24 annual gala benefit for SMU Meadows will feature the critically acclaimed Meadows Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Paul Phillips, in a concert of works by Ravel, Fauré and Delibes. Opening the program is Ravel’s La Valse, which the composer called his “choreographic poem for orchestra”; the music conjures whirling crowds of waltzing couples in an imperial court with unmistakable brooding undertones.

Price: 

$25 for adults, $20 for seniors, $17 for students, faculty & staff ($10 discount available for subscribers)

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Spring Dance Concert

When: 
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 8:00pm
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 8:00pm
Friday, April 7, 2017 - 8:00pm
Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 8:00pm
Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 2:00pm

The Spring Dance Concert features a diverse mix of modern, jazz and ballet works. Paul Taylor’s masterwork Mercuric Tidings, described by New York Times dance critic Anna Kisselgoff as “a dance that seemingly bursts into song,” is set to symphonic music by Schubert. Alternately physically propulsive and elegantly introspective, it is one of Taylor’s most demanding, sumptuous and poetic creations. Valse-Fantaisie, a whirlwind dance for a lead couple and four additional women, was choreographed by George Balanchine for New York City Ballet in 1967.

Price: 

$14 for adults, $11 for seniors, $8 for students, faculty & staff

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Spring Brown Bag Dance Series

When: 
Monday, March 6, 2017 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 12:30pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 12:00pm
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 12:30pm
Friday, March 10, 2017 - 12:00pm

The Division of Dance presents lunchtime performances of 10-15 original, student-choreographed works in multiple genres, including ballet, modern, jazz, tap and hip-hop.

Price: 

FREE

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787

Senior Dance Concert

When: 
Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 6:00pm
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 6:00pm
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 7, 2017 - 7:00pm
Senior Dance Concert

Two different shows featuring student works choreographed and produced by the senior class of 2017.
Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program A)
Friday, May 5, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program B)
Saturday, May 6, 2017 at 6:00pm (Program A)
Sunday, May 7, 2017 at 7:00pm (Program B)

Price: 

$5 per person for reserved seating.

Student Rush: Students may line up for free admittance with a valid student I.D. one hour prior to performance time. Students will be admitted to the theatre 10 minutes before show time and may choose seating based on availability.

Contact: 

For more information call 214.768.2787.

Syndicate content

User login